Or call us

Hardship Hearings

If you have been charged with DWI and the court has scheduled a hardship hearing, or you hope to obtain a hardship license, call Suffolk County DWI lawyer Gary Miller.

In New York, those who have taken a breath test and subsequently charged with driving while intoxicated as a misdemeanor, will still have their license suspended for 30 days by virtue of being charged with driving while intoxicated. The 30 day suspension starts from the date of the arrest. Those with a valid New York State driver's license at the time of the DWI arrest may qualify for a hardship license from the court. A hardship license allows those charged with DWI to go to and from their place of employment, to and from school, and/or to and from medical appointments. A hardship license is very specific, and only allows you to drive to and from specific locations, during specified times of the day, during the 30 day hardship license period. It does not allow you to, for example make deliveries to different locations, or to deliver mail. Obtaining a hardship license requires a hearing before the judge overseeing the DWI case who will determine whether the person charged with DWI meets the criteria for a hardship license.  Among the factors considered by the court, whether there is someone else in the household that can drive you to and from work, school, or medical appointments, or whether there is public transportation available. After the 30 day period, you will be eligible to have your license revert back to the license you had prior to being charged with DWI. There will be however other suspensions / revocations should there be an alcohol related driving conviction in the future. 

If you have been charged with DWI in Suffolk County
and want to obtain a hardship license, call Suffolk County DWI Lawyer Gary Miller.